People today sleep less and less. What are causes of this? Do you think this is a positive development?

It is true that sleeping time for both adults and youngsters is shrinking. In my point of view, they are several reasons causing this problem, which is definitely negative. First, working people nowadays are imposed more and more work that they could not reject because of the fiercely competitive society. They are supposed to spend most of their energy and time on their jobs without reasonable rest, family time or vacation. This working style obviously will decrease their time for deep rest and sleep. Another factor causing adults to sleep less is that they may be controlled by some electronic gadgets such as mobile phones and computers. They are indulging in playing games or browsing online day and night. Second, students have less sleep time due to much more homework assigned by schools. In order to obtain outstanding fame for schools, teachers are usually very strict with the adolescents’ study. They teach a lot in class while children may need extra time to finish their homework in order to fully understand it, which will take up most of their leisure time. On the other hand, teenagers are more likely to be distracted by current electronic products than adults, leading to less sleep. In my opinion, less sleep time is really a setback, because it is greatly harmful to health. Without adequate rest, people can not concentrate well on their job or study. Thus, they must contribute more time on working or studying. Eventually, the bad cycle will bring diseases, ruining the immune system. In conclusion, people should not sacrifice their rest time for working, learning or playing games, because they will get sick from insufficient sleeping.