The treat of nuclear power weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages To what extent do you agree or disagree

The disadvantages of nuclear power are eclipsed by the advantages as it has been proven fruitful in maintaining peace in the world, as well as it is an affordable and cleaner source of energy. I completely agree with this idea and, I will discuss and analyse this topic in detail in this essay. To commence with, undoubtedly, the usage of nuclear energy has halted war worldwide. Take, the invention of the atomic bomb, as an illustration, Dr Abdul Qadir Khan invented it after World War 2 and soon many nations had taken the technology that forced countries to deter war even in the circumstances of extreme conflicts and disagreements. Then, there came a new concept of solving issues with negotiations and conversations. Hence, international matters began to be dealt with discussions and it is embraced by all the nations around the globe. Secondly, nuclear power is an efficient, less expensive and clean source of energy. For instance, it only requires a radioactive element to initiate a chemical reaction in a nuclear reactor that can last for years and produce a massive amount of energy. It is also an environmentally friendly procedure compared to the generation of power by fossil fuels. Thus, the electricity produced by nuclear energy is used to supply energy to meet the domestic, industrial and commercial needs in many countries. On the other hand, sometimes accidents happen at the site of the production of nuclear power. For example, in 2008 an explosion was witnessed in Malaysia in a nuclear power plant that caused damage to the local area and a few casualties. However, these incidents are very rare in occurrence. In conclusion, although nuclear energy is hazardous and dangerous to some extent, its ability to prevent war globally is crucial. Moreover, it generates cheap and clean energy that can power our households and offices. Therefore, in my opinion, its merits take precedence over its demerits.