Homelessness is increasing in many major cities around the world. What do you think are the main causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

The density of people is high in the city compared to suburbs and villages. Because most of the people choose to eradicate the commuting time from home to workplace, and it is easy to avail free entertainment like buskers, street shopping etc... Therefore, the population from other regions of the country prefer to accommodate in city centres. Whereas it elevates the cost of living in metropolitan cities. Firstly, cities are the heart of the state, and crowds from other regions of the country migrate to the city for opportunities to earn more than average. Whereas cities don’t have enough space to afford houses for all. The migrant workers, who could be able to afford rent higher than the market price, hike the demand for houses in real estate. For example, the cost of a room in a hotel is expensive in a tourist spot likewise the cost of living in the capital is costly. Secondly, governments are not focusing on the development of the infrastructure in other regions of the countries such as rural areas. With regards to unemployment in the villages and lack of chances for self-employment creates a vacuum in remote locations. In contrast, foods are more important than shelter, in the conflict between food and home, food always wins. Therefore, people prefer to be homeless rather than being without food. In a nutshell, environmental engineers and government should work together to improve the small towns, hamlets etc... Reforming the unemployment schemes such as offering loans to aspiring small scale entrepreneurs & providing guidance would gradually increase the human development index.