Many would argue that scientific research requires a degree of oversight from the relevant governmantal authorities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Research plays an imperative role in building a developed nation and contributes in the economy of the nation. It is often argued that the work of researcher should be supervised by government agencies whereas others think that scholars should be given free hand. Although researchers require independence in their work, to prevent the misuse of new technologies oversight is mandatory. In this essay, what are the advantages of supervision of research work by government authorities, will be discussed. Laboratories in research -based institutions are temples for scholars. Research in the laboratory could be beneficial for a human race such as the invention of the electric bulb as well as it can be destructive for example experiments related to viruses. Research which is in public interest should be encouraged by the authorities. For example, a study by the Queen's University has found that Covid-19 spread from the labs of Wuhan University in December, 2020. Therefore, the government should supervise and regulate laboratories in order to stop the information from going into the wrong hands. Work on technologies, for instance, nuclear technologies and biochemical weapons should be done under the authorization of governments. On the other hand, scientists and researchers require a free hand to devote their full strength to their work. Reporting and permissions for new work might delay the outcomes. Government interference and unnecessary authorizations may discourage new generations to work for the societies. For instance, the New York Times reported in 2021 that India has registered seven thousand new startup companies whereas China has only two thousand. Furthermore, the government should support new graduates to opt for the research field. Hence, reducing red-tapism and providing independence to research -based universities might help nations to scale new heights. In conclusion, this essay supports the idea that laboratories should be given full independence to research and invent new technologies.