A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, materialism is taking the place of the old pillars which held up society. In fact, a study performed on a global level last year stated that, for the majority of people, the social position of a person is more important than his social behaviour. I strongly believe that the reason for this rising trend is the increase of possibilities to show ourselves in a virtual readjusted world. In this essay I will outline why I think that this superficial point of view is increasing in our society and then I will analyse a possible solution for this problem. Undoubtedly, one of the main causes of the loss of fundamental values is the spread of social networks. Indeed, social networks, such as Instagram or Facebook, base their existence on the external appearance. Furthermore, with the current technological instruments, it is possible to modify our look. This allows us to show a different version of ourselves and brings people to concentrate even more on their external look. So, despite social networks have many positive aspects, they surely induce people to concentrate more on their aspects than on their values. However, I think it is still possible to find an escape route to this trend. Indeed our society should be educated to the so diffused fake culture on social networks. So, a possible way to resolve this problem could be to inform the young generation about the risk that the internet could represent for the actual society. Therefore, they will know that what they see in the virtual world is not an important aspect of our life. In conclusion, the diffusion of a very dangerous culture, based on superficiality and social status, is a problem that our society should seriously face. Anyway, it's not impossible to avoid this risk. Indeed, an effective way is to educate young to beware of those wrong behaviours, whereas they should concentrate on what really counts: the fundamental values such as honour, kindness and trust.