Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

It is deemed that evaluating a student’s learning status must be through formal exams while various assignments can not be used for assessment. It is disagreed that there’s only one way to judge the learning capability. In this essay, analyzing, including paper scores providing obvious studying results and assigned works also reflecting the learners’ comprehension of knowledge can prove this. Firstly, scores can really provide visual and direct results for youngsters learning abilities. For example, in schools and at home, teachers and parents need to acknowledge whether the children are in good command of the knowledge and skills they have learned for a semester. Thus a midterm exam or a final test would be the easiest and most effective path because the examination could be done in a very short time and tell about the scores very quickly and directly. In this case, the examination is really a useful and efficient tool of assessing the kids’ performance. On the other hand, assignments such as papers and projects can also reflect whether the students are delicate in learning and show what kind of knowledge need to be strengthened. For instance, the children are required to do some reviews every day. From the completion of their paperwork or some handmade items which are based on the information they learn, the adults can be in good command of the kids studying status and make a short-term schedule in order to help them with unfamiliar areas. Therefore, continuous working can also serve as a satisfactory and quick tool to assess students’ performance in school. In conclusion, an examination can really be used for evaluating students in a more efficient, straight while the assignments every day could be also served as a supporting method for the purpose of judging and improving within a short time. Therefore, the viewpoint that tests are the only approach for evaluation is disagreed. Students could not only be judged by visual scores.