Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example through cellphone tracking and security cameras).In many cases,the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening . Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

The continuous development in the field of technology in the 21st century has resulted in monitoring the talks and actions of people in their daily lives with the help of electronic gadgets. Moreover, people are usually not aware that they are being monitored. In my opinion, although it has some significant advantages, its disadvantages take precedence over the merits. On the one hand, nowadays, people have no freedom as technological devices always monitor them. For instance, the general public has to be cautious about their moves in public places because most of the regions are covered by CCTV operations. Innocent people feel uncomfortable due to the continuous monitoring. Additionally, all online activities of people are also monitored by multinational corporations. For example, whatever people search on the internet is monitored and they are bombarded with the advertisements of their searched interests on their social media accounts. This is happening because companies keep a record of their search history and send the targeted adverts to potential customers. Thus, the liberty of a common man is highly influenced by technological advancements. On the other hand, one of the major benefits of advancing technology is a reduction in the crime rate globally. To illustrate this, many studies have shown that more than 70% of crimes- either serious or petty ones- are caught by public surveillance cameras. Similarly, smartphone tracking also assists in accessing the location of offenders. This definitely discourages criminals from attacking the public and their properties. Hence, on this account, no one can deny the importance of technology in deterring crime. In conclusion, despite technology has become successful in halting criminal activities, the privacy of people both in private lives and public areas is affected. I, therefore, believe that the merits of this innovation are overshadowed by its demerits.