Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the development of transportation, individuals can be able to travel and reside anywhere they want. Serious and practical issues can be the result of dwelling in a nation where one has to communicate in a foreign language. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement due to many possible reasons. To begin with, not being able to speak a foreign language can create misunderstandings and possible conflicts. For example, foreigners living in Vietnam cannot speak or pronounce correctly, hence they can get into conflict situations with the locals. In particular, in Vietnamese traditions, if a male kisses a female one, it is indicative of a love relationship. Nevertheless, kissing is considered one of the greetings by the foreigners, it could lead to the possibility of misunderstanding, and arguments. Secondly, language barriers can land one in trouble for various aspects. Basically, they are one of the insurmountable obstacles that minimize work efficiency. A good example can be set about a foreign manager who has inadequate language abilities when talking to his or her employees about joint projects. Therefore, it might appear some practical problems diminish productivity. Some people argue that advanced technologies and their applications can give people the assistance to communicate effortlessly. However, I think their applications are imperfect and also have some considerable inconveniences. For instance, Google Translate cannot translate the implicitly meaning of words, phrases and sentences. Additionally, it is hard to use translate software for making friends because it forms a huge distance between individuals. In summary, there are various negative consequences when people who live in these regions have to speak a foreign language, both socially and practically. It could cause misinterpretation, conflicts and other issues. Due to language barriers, I suggest that people should improve their language skills in order to diminish the possible dilemmas.