Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is generally accepted that improving the environment can only be done by large organisations or governmental institutions rather than individuals. While big companies and governments act can result in distinct changes towards the surroundings, a person can also do the same and make a difference. Thus, this essay will discuss the statement. Firstly, large communities or the government are proven to shift the condition of the environment. The power that these big organisations have plays a big part in making the changes. For instance, making regulation changes in a country can only be done by the government, which results in a significant difference in terms of the situation that people will experience between the pre and the post-event of the act. Moreover, with the power owned by these organisations, well-established associations often make huge impacts after they decide to run a new regulation. On the other hand, even though numbers of individuals are not as big as they may seem in terms of power, they can hugely affect the environment. A person's actions can impact his / her surroundings, starting from the closest circle, his / her family. For example, a kid who has the initiative of taking care of hygiene in his / her neighbourhood will be followed by his / her family. Furthermore, this kind of act will motivate not only the closest circle but also the ones who see the act as a positive impact on the surroundings. In conclusion, although governments and large companies can make an improvement toward the environment, individual acts can also make a huge impact. In my opinion, I firmly believe that a man has the ability to make a distinct improvement for the environment by starting from the closest circle.