Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While a certain group might believe jail time should be extended for offenders, some other groups think there are effective approaches to decreasing crime. I will discuss both views and give an opinion at the end. First of all, the crime itself is bad for any society and offenders should be punished. However, offenders should be given a longer prison sentence and this is mainly because when most individuals indulge in this act realise they would spend most of their lives in jail, they make proper choices. For example, a father who understands he would spend the rest of his life in prison if caught in a robbery would certainly think about his family and avoid such thoughts. Therefore, a longer prison sentence will be an effective way to reduce crime. However not the only effective means. On the other hand, research has shown that most of the population who commit the most crimes are unemployed community, I strongly believe that if more jobs were to be made available and if people's hard work will earn them the kind of wages they deserve. Hence, it would decrease misconduct in society. Furthermore, other alternative solutions could be putting police stations in every neighbourhood accompanied by CCTVs and developing mobile applications to alert authorities of anyone in danger. For instance, a one-click mobile application informs the nearest policeman that someone around him is in danger. In my view, if such measures are in place, the rate will reduce in any community. In conclusion, there is no single approach to reducing criminal activities in any society. Nevertheless, I opine that while increasing jail time would reduce this act, other approaches should be affected as well.