Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace. Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Technological advancements and cutting-edge gadgets' creation have brought many advantages to human beings, one of the foremost being remote work. For this reason, many people argue that working from home has many advantages that should be leveraged, while many others think that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. I believe that both sides should be considered, and in this essay, I explain in detail my point of view. To start with, working remotely rocketed when the COVID-19 pandemic began, however, nowadays its popularity has increased dramatically. This is related to its main advantages given by saving time and money, thus there is a reduction in the stipends spent on commuting, which could represent 20% or 30% of the total expenses, as well as many hours should be travelled (consistency) since there are long distances. For example, in Bogota, the transportation system is called 'Transmilenio' which costs approximately 3.000 Colombian pesos per person, and hundreds of people take more than one hour to arrive home due to the traffic conditions. In contrast, some demerits should be enumerated where, perhaps, social skills and socialization are the most vital topics. Since societies have been created, humans have had a huge capacity to talk and relate to each other. Nevertheless, working from residential areas has cut off these relationships leading to an increase in many psychiatric disorders. For instance, in Japan, many mental issues such as depression and anxiety have peaked due to levels of stress with less personal interactions. To sum up, there are merits and downsides that should be taken into account when remote work is being considered. Therefore, employees' opinions should be evaluated as well as social conditions, and then alternatives should be proposed such as hybrid programs.