Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

Nowadays, technologies are becoming more accessible, easier to access, and lower in price. Thereby it is more likely that most workers and students will work and learn at a distance. Despite that there might be some positive effects of this shift, I would say it is a negative development. First of all, in terms of productivity, an online model of job or education will probably be less efficient. A population usually feel more responsible for their work quality while under the strict inspection of their managers but feel less obligation when the working mode switches to online. Moreover, people may face many disruptions at home, further lowering their productivity. These disruptions may include noises coming from children or neighbourhoods. Moreover, the distant working standards may lead to increased isolation. During the period of online job and study, people remain in their homes and spend there most of their time. Lack of communication, interaction with the environment may cause one to distort society completely. As a result of isolation, a person may lose confidence in life and self-satisfaction; and potentially end up with depression. In conclusion, although there may be some advantages of this development, I believe that the quality of work and relations between people are the most valuable things in any case.