In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

The plummeting number of people who live in rural areas is starting to reach a concerning level these days. This is a result of massive urbanization, a phenomenon which occurs when countryside inhabitants move to the city. Some people believe that his particular movement is not beneficial, especially for rural areas' future development. This will be proven by the housing problem in an overpopulated city, as well as the scarcity of manpower to handle farm and plantation land. Firstly, urbanization will lead to overpopulation of the city, which eventually leads to skyrocketing issues of finding a decent home. For instance, the limited property available is not linear with the demand and this is resulting in an excessively expensive rent fee that society already encounters nowadays. Hence, if the movement is not stopped, this will cause even more complicated problems, such as homelessness and a rising criminal rate. Therefore, this development may eventually lead to a complicated housing problem and needs to be solved immediately. Secondly, the community who decide to leave the village will not continue the legacy of their parents, which is the farmland and fields. As a result, the lack of thriving farmland and crop plantations will lead to a massive shortage of staple goods. For example, although Indonesia was one of the biggest agricultural countries in the world, we were facing a rice crisis as it was the main carbohydrate in the meals that we consume every day. Thus, the lack of people who live in the countryside can cause a long-term issue, such as national food ingredients shortage. In conclusion, this phenomenon can cause dozens of problems, such as issues in living areas and neglected countryside farms and fields. Finally, the negative development of this movement is very clear the government needs to make strict regulations and encourage more people to live in the rural area by incentivising the farms and plantations.