The private vehicle has greatly improved individual freedom of movement. Moreover, it has also become a status symbol. Yet the use of private vehicles has contributed to some of today’s most serious problems. How can the use of private motor vehicles be reduced?

The materialistic possessions of the human civilization have taken a novel spearhead; a transportation method, following the industrial revolution. Though the ownership of a vehicle has fulfilled the embodiment of a hierarchical position in society, and the thirst for free mobility, it is not without many detrimental effects like air pollution and traffic congestion. This essay explores means to reduce the use of private automobiles. First of all, providing alternative efficient movement methods can be an effective strategy. When the features like efficiency and comfort of a public transport system improve, simultaneously the public becomes prone to travel in those. Even though a private automobile provides a sense of higher echelon, time management issues and traffic congestion will prompt people to choose the public system. For example, the railway and subway systems in Japan, tend to be highly efficient, prompting the majority to use them over driving their own vehicle. Secondly, another method will be legislation discouraging the people to use their own vehicles. To elucidate further, policies such as taxation for automobiles, and charging at town limits can be formulated by the governing bodies. Furthermore, in a country like Japan, a high cost has to be paid for parking spaces, approximately over the cost of a vehicle. Such policies initiate the necessary shift of transport towards a more public one. All in all, an automobile generates a high status and supply with freedom of movement. However, this ownership aggravates the problems like air pollution and traffic congestion. Therefore, in conclusion, this trend can be altered via establishing efficient public transport systems, and legislation, discouraging private vehicle ownership.