The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Traffic has become the most concerning issue in day to day's life and it can be controlled by adopting work and study from home and even managing shopping through online platforms only. While I agree to some extent but it has various repercussions too. To commence with, Working or studying can control congestion issues, and by adopting these ways, a huge no. of private as well as public vehicles will not be used on daily basis. For instance, if both members of the family start working from home instead of commuting through their own vehicle for the job, will reduce two cars on the road. Thus huge no. of vehicles will not be a part of the traffic. Additionally, an increase in online shopping can also bring a huge change in traffic. More and more people should be encouraged to buy products from online sites. As it doesn't involve any travelling. For example: when daily grocery shopping is being managed by online aggregators, fewer vehicles will come on the road. Thus, this will not only solve traffic problems and will provide ease and convenience in daily life. However, despite the above-mentioned benefits, it has various drawbacks too. Firstly, various office spaces will shut as they work from home will lead to their closure. For instance, during covid times various offices were being demolished as no staff in office means no revenue, hence leads to closure. Secondly, various malls will face huge losses if shoppers stop buying from malls. Thus, lower customers will lead to heavy losses and closures. To conclude, while online methods of shopping, studying and working will reduce congestion on roads and public should adopt it wherever its feasible and government should find a permanent solution to solve the concern.