Some people say that the government should increases taxes for unhealthy food. Others, however, hold that it would be more effective to subsidize producers of fruit and vegetables Discuss both sides and give your opinion on the matter.

It is generally acknowledged by certain individuals that taxes on unhealthy food should be risen by the government. However, others argue that the government should provide subsides to famers who produce fruit and vegetables. This essay will outline why they support each side and suggest my opinion On the one hand, if the government allocates state-funds to producers, the price of fruit and vegetables becomes affordable to buy. A significant number of citizens purchase unhealthy food as it is cheaper than healthy food. For example, one cup of soft drink is much more cheaper than that of milk or fruit juice. As the example clearly illustrates, supporting producers is an efficient means of helping consumers buy fresh produce. On the other hand, some assert that imposing taxes on unhealthy food is a key factor in maintaining healthy life style among individuals. Since many people want to buy cheap food such as fast food, it is more popular than nutritious food. Therefore, fast food restaurants are ubiquitous in contemporary society. Not only can consumption of high sugary food cause obesity, but it may also contribute to other major health issues such as type 2 diabetes. If the government decide to impose taxes on fast food, people would not buy it, and therefore the public can manage their health. Regarding this, from my point of view, taxes on unhealthy food can also be efficient means of enhancement of living standard. If the taxes are collected, the government can spend these taxes on other urgent public issues such as public transportation or education. As a result, a standard of living would be enhance. In conclusion, while supporting producers can sometimes be efficient for healthy food becoming affordable, imposing taxes can help the population keep health life and allocate funds to public service, thereby leading to increasing a standard of living.