In some cities, governments have tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

Many governments around the world have attempted to solve congestion problems by applying taxes for traffic jams during peak hours. In my opinion, this strategy has positive effects because it prevents environmental concerns and reduces accidents. First and foremost, a country that experiences more road circulation issues is one that has many cars. Automobiles are one of the factors that contribute to the degradation of the global environment. This is because vehicles get their main source of energy from fossil fuels, which in turn can be very detrimental by affecting the quality of air. Furthermore, global warming, which is triggered by harmful gases released from cars, continues to negatively impact the world. For instance, after Stockholm introduced a tax, there was a visible drop in roadway activity and a measurable reduction in air pollution. Therefore, imposing taxes promotes a shift away from utilizing private transportation to public ones such as railways or metro systems, which are more environmentally friendly. Secondly, congestion often leads to some unexpected incidents. People who are in a hurry to get quickly to their planned destination have to wait in traffic for a long time, especially during rush hours. As they lose most of their, individuals drive their vehicles at high speed, and as a result, they might get someone injured or killed. Moreover, for ambulances, being unable to move in such situations risks people’s lives as getting them to a hospital on time becomes almost impossible. For example, in Jakarta, heavy rush hour often delays emergency automobiles, leading to preventable fatalities in critical cases. In conclusion, implementing different policies such as tariffs during particular times, is beneficial for promoting a healthy environment and diminishing the negative consequences of accidents.