Some people think that governments should ban dangerous sports, while others think people should have freedom to do any sports or activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that there is widespread concern over the practice of extreme sports. While some people argue that these sports should be restricted by government legislation, I believe that people should be free to practice such sports if they wish. On the one hand, critics of dangerous sports give strong reasons why the government should impose an official ban on such activities. Firstly, they suppose that such measures are necessary on safety grounds. There have been numerous incidents where members of rescue services have had to their lives at risk to save extreme sports enthusiasts who are in life-threatening situations. Secondly, it is vital at times to limit the personal freedoms of those who lack years of experience or are not in their peak physical condition. Such irresponsible behaviors can only be prevented by banning these sports. On the other hand, I concur with the idea that people should be free to pursue and develop their interest in dangerous sports, although I believe it is vital for individuals to abide by the safety rules. One reason is that the imposition of sensible safety measures has been proven to minimize the risk of accidents and injuries. For instance, all sports which carry a significant element of danger, such as scuba diving or paragliding should be supervised by an experienced and professionally qualified instructor. Another factor is that there is now a range of essential sports gear to protect those who participate in extreme sports. Such equipment ranges from safety ropes and helmets to water-resistant clothing. In conclusion, it seems to me that dangerous sports should be permitted; however, sports takers have a responsibility to adhere to the recommended safety procedures and nobody should underestimate the possible risks and dangers of such sports.