Some people say that world travel benefits everyone,regardless of age. Other people claim that only those over a certain age should experience global travel. How far do you agree or disagree?

The issue of global warming has come to the forefront of public awareness in recent years. Some feel that individuals and their actions will not have an effect on climate change. However, I agree with those who say that everyone has a responsibility to save the environment. In the following paragraphs, I will explore the rationale for both beliefs as well as proffer justification for my own viewpoint. Regarding those who hold that individual behavior does not affect global warming, there are many reasons. One supportive claim is that the problem of climate change is simply too vast to be altered on such a small scale, as one person recycling their plastic soda bottle is not going to save the world. More specifically, critics point out that large bodies, such as factories, impact our environment much more than a single individual. In fact, a glass manufacturing facility here in Portland was just closed by authorities for polluting the local water supply, affecting over 100,000 residents. Hence, industrial impact can be seen to outweigh that of individuals. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that opinion is ludicrous. The obvious reason is that every little bit helps, and the actions of many individuals added together can assuredly delay climate change. My close friend Tania is a shining example of an eco-friendly existence. Not only does she commute via bicycle to work and her son’s school, but she also recycles, composts, and goes out of her way to purchase items which feature little to no packaging. What is more, she confidently encourages and persuades those around her to do the same, thus creating a ripple effect of environmentally positive practices. In sum, I maintain that if everyone pitches in, citizens can, indeed, save our world from the threat of global warming. In the future, I sincerely wish that each and every one of us does our part to save the environment.