People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve these problems?

It is said that people are living longer after they retire. This issue is believed to have some negative effects and so requires specific solutions. On the one hand, living longer after retirement has led to heavier financial burden on the government. A large portion of the population requires financial assistance from the council to maintain their livings after retirement. This can create an impact on the government budget as it requires more tax-payers’ money to provide pensions for retired people. Moreover, as people get older, the risk of sickness and disease also increases. Again, this can have a serious impact on the health system, especially in those overloaded and underfunded hospitals in neglected areas. As a result, money from the administration will be used to solve these problems, thus decreasing the government’s funds. However, there are several solutions that can be performed in order to deal with such issues. If retired people are living longer, it may mean that they are still healthy enough to continue contributing for the companies and thus the council can increase the retirement age, or allow part-time works for the retired so that they can earn money by their own hands. Nowadays, in many developed countries, employers are required to make financial contributions to the retirement funds on behalf of their employees. These funds help to sustain the elderly throughout their retirement without placing too much burdens on the administration’s budgets. It is also advised that the council can encourage immigration in order to expand the workforce, thus allowing the government to invest more money for the retired by collecting more taxes. In conclusion, although the longevity of retired people have led to some problems, there are still ways to reduce the impacts that this issue is having on the economy.