Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

School evaluations are the main feature of the academic system in various countries. Even though exams give to students a better comprehension of the studied subject and, subsequently, an enhanced commitment during lectures, I believe that tests cannot cover every inch of the school curriculum and more importantly, tests do not evaluate all students true abilities. Examinations have always been the preferred tool to evaluate students’ academic skills and, furthermore, to keep students focus during lectures in order to not fail the aforementioned tests. For instance, the future job career of a graduate student is indissolubly linked to its academic career, especially the received grades in specific subjects. Therefore, a student will focus on these lectures and, eventually receive high grades in those relevant subjects. This will lead the student in having the chance to choose the wanted job career. However, I believe that tests cannot cover every module of the school courses and that exams do not evaluate students ’ skills properly; therefore, I argue that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Many students know that usually exams cover specific parts of the course and what the teacher believe is relevant to know in order to pass. Therefore, because of this, students study hard just bits of the modules for the sake of the grade itself than for the sake of showing their abilities. This results on not evaluating the students ’ real skills but simply mnemonic study. In conclusion, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of the school systems’ main tool. I believe that students will show their true abilities if the school system use non-grade quizzes instead of official exams.