Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In this contemporary world, instead of doing a job for any business institute, a plethora of people are electing to become self-employed as it provides flexibility in their profession. However, it has certain demerits like instability of job and lack of professional experience. On the first hand, in this modern time, being self-owner sounds lucrative to anyone due to the fact that it allows varied flexibilities to workers. By being their own boss, they can decide how much amount of new work they want to accept and for what duration they would want to perform their duties; whereas this is not the case for those employees who are working with any company. For instance, software developers who are working as freelancers will prefer to associate with clients based on the length of the project as well as the duration and their availability. Even, they would stop working in between the assignment in case they have to attend any other important matter in life. Hence, such provisions can be considered the main factors for someone being self-employed. On the other hand, when one decides to not become an employee of any organisation then one may risk the stability of remuneration which is guaranteed from secured employment. Furthermore, despite having a number of years of self-employment experience, one can lack industry-specific knowledge which can be obtained by working with professionals of companies. To illustrate, a software developer working in a multinational company would be trained under seniors who are having a vast experience in their domain. Additionally, they will inculcate him with standard practices and methodologies which is not possible for a person who is working as a freelancer. In conclusion, in lieu of becoming a permanent worker of any business organisation, a number of humankind are not choosing it as they do not achieve the desired flexibility over there. Even though they become their own boss, they do not have a surety of income and they may miss occupational expertise.