it is important to learn the difference between right and wrong.punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.to what extent do u disagree with this opinion.what sort of behavior should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children

The ability to differentiate right from wrong is an essential individual and social skill.Unfortunately many believe, this can be taught to children only with punishments which i strongly disagree. This essay will focus on why punishment is an unnecessary practice and how we can replace it. Firstly,I'm of the opinion that we have no right to harm another human irrespective of reasons,whether its the good intentions of a teacher or the self proclaimed right of parents. Punishments can be both physical like beating with stick or belt,pinching,slapping,made to sit or stand in uncomfortable manner for prolonged time as well as mental which can be in the form of withdrawl of affection, shaming in front of others. These kind of punishments can result in traumatized children growing up to mentally unhealthy and disturbed adults. Finally,the hard punishments cause disharmony and strains in the relation between children and caregivers and eventually lose the love,care and affection. Plenty of healthier options can be adopted to develop good behavior in children.Elders can let children observe them dealing sensitive and important issues and thereby lead by example, this uses the principle that children mimic whatever they see.While its of sheer importance that they are explained the importance or consequence of their ill actions, its equally important to let them realize that mistakes are natural but they should learn to take responsibility for them and rectify their errors.If at all any situations demands a punishment,it should limited to a time out for the child where he's left alone in a safe place under supervision.The main idea is to provide ample time for the child to realize his mistake on his own, this would help in developing good morals. Hence,I assert that punishments are atrocious methods used in the name of instilling better behavior in children which not only doesnt seem to fetch the desired results but also result in ever lasting physical and mental scars.