Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Rapid globalization has created various opportunities of employment options for employees. Currently, the choice of whether to be self-employed or to be a worker of a company or cooperation has been a rising issue of debate, with many choosing the previous one. The pitfalls of such working styles remain questionable, but there are reasons for this sudden shift. To start with, the changing work environment might be caused by the improvement in awareness of the workforce. Especially, the working professionals refuse to devote their precious time and resources to a confined setting. For example, there are many talents who could feel at odds with the fixed working for companies that do not supply them with a proper environment for growth. Therefore, more and more people resign from their positions to establish their own businesses. Secondly, the flexibility of a freelance work-life attracts many as an optional usage of time can be observed. For instance, a typical 9-to-5 worker can hardly study another degree due to a fixed schedule. Thus, a flexible choice could provide the workforce with better personal improvement and independence. Additionally, a freelancer could be able to do sports or participate in music classes in hours that many could not. Self-employment could present serious drawbacks for the workers for a long time. The significant impact is the self-motivation of individuals opting for freelancing, leading to a reduction in productivity. Indeed, laziness and lack of initiative could overtake and hinder the advantages of self-employment. Moreover, the stability is not assured due to handling an unstable income. With the unpredictable economy, individuals might need to be thought out before quitting their jobs. In conclusion, this attractive option might provide tremendous enjoyment such as flexibility and development, but it is certainly not the ideal choice for others. Hence, a thorough assessment of risks should be considered by the workforce before making a decision on a career path.