Today's teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations. Discuss this view and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In today's world many of us are under constant stress. A similar pattern has emerged for teenagers over the years. Stress in young generation is often related to the academics, whilst the previouse generations had to face different causes of stress. On one hand, the academic world has become more competitive. Teenager are under increasing academic pressure, as education is becoming more competetive. For instance, entry requirements for universities are getting higher and higher. Furthermore, competition for a limted number of places is increasing in these institutions. This results in many teenagers having to work more and harder to achieve their goals of attending university. On the other hand, the type of stress teenagers experience today is different to what the previous generations have experienced. I do not believe that it is fair to say that today's generation has to deal with more stress. Although, it appeares appeared that the nature of stress has changed. For exmaple, my grandfather had to walk five kilometers to school, no matter the conditions outside. This is something that many teenager today do not have to worry about. In other words, as our world has become more developed, many causes of stress that may have affected the previous generations are not as relevant today. In conclusion, it appeares fair to say that an increase in academic pressure, has resulted in an increase in stress for the young generation. However, I do not believe that today's generation is exposed to overall more stress, comapred to previous generations.