Some people think that watching sports in one’s free time is just waste of time. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, the phenomenon of spending time on watching sports has aroused wide concerns among various circles and there is a wide spectrum of opinions on the importance of watching sports events. Although some people argue it is time-consuming to watch sports, I am of the opinion that watching sports can lead to several positive effects. Of all the reasons why it would be useful to watch the sports events, probably the most significant one is that public can learn new techniques from watching it on television, especially the case of athletes. It is of paramount importance that revising the techniques is tantamount to acquiring new skills, athletes can revise and learn the techniques from their counterparts by just sitting on the sofa in their homes. For instance, not only the ball-dribbling skills can be learnt by watching other matches, but the strategic planning of each round before attacking can also be shown to the soccer players for improving their soccer skills. Despite the new skills can be acquired through observing others, never should we overlook the fact that watching sports can act as entertainment to the public, in a bid to relieve their stress from a hectic work life. For example, in a metropolitan city like Hong Kong, citizens are often required to work overtime in order to fulfil the needs of their senior staff, which creates an enormous amount of stress for the employees. It is therefore essential that people can put their job aside while they can enjoy watching sports events with their best friends after work, so that the tension coming from the hectic work can be relieved. This in turn is beneficial to their physical and psychological health in order to maintain a good work -life balance. To summarise, in spite of watching sports can allow society to acquire new technical skills, it can also undoubtedly improve the quality of life among citizens. It is hoped that sports events should be introduced to the public in the future.