It is often said “when in Rome, do as the Romans do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

Nowadays, some believe that tourists have to adapt themselves to the destination’s culture. In my opinion, in spite of the fact that respecting foreign countries’ traditions or rules is a little hard for visitors, they should be considered as their major duty. Besides, in my belief, learning a foreign language gives a chance to tourists promote their knowledge about its’ cultures better. To begin with, the majority of people have preferred to ignore the destination’s major parts of customs instead of accepting them. A host nation has a variety of traditions and beliefs, all of them are significant for people and they have been trying to improve their country based on them. As a result, no one is allowed to ignore them. For instance, in Iraq, all women have to wear scarves and this rule is a long term culture, so all foreign women are forced to respect it. Hence, matching other countries’ customs is an inevitable reality. In addition, speaking a foreign language plays a crucial role in understanding lifestyles. Individuals not only can interact with others but also can gather loads of information about cultures. For example, in most countries such as china, all tour leaders try to teach some important sentences or words to tourists just because of helping them for communicating with others and respecting some specific rules or cultures in some areas like historical places. To sum up, in this contemporary era, the importance of accepting other countries’ traditions and learning their languages are real. In my opinion, if all governments create some suitable situations for visitors to adapt better to their customs and learn the major parts of their language simply, they can develop their tourism industry significantly.