Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of distance learning. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, due to the prevalence of technological advancement, the phenomenon of remote online teaching has aroused various concerns among various circles. Although there are good arguments in favour of teaching method should be made online, never should we overlook the drawbacks of distance learning. On the one hand, regarding the possible benefits of distance learning, it provides a fair platform for students to get involved. In the traditional face-to-face classroom, it is a ubiquitous phenomenon that only one to two proactive students are actively engaged and raised their hands to ask questions in the classroom. On the contrary, with the aid of the interactive online tools in the remote learning classroom, for instance, zoom or Microsoft teams, students that are shy to ask in the traditional classroom can now be more active to ask questions by clicking a button on the screen only. This in turn can facilitate the learning process for all students. On the other hand, despite the advantages of online teaching, there are some negative impacts on the remote learning. Due to the fact that each student has his/her unique study needs, no matter how omnipotent the computer program is, it is impossible to cater for the needs of each student. And therefore, it will be difficult for the teachers to understand and thus decide an individualized learning material for students. As a result, not only the learning progress of some students will be lagged behind, but their examination results are also poorly resulted. To summarise, while there are several disadvantages in online teaching, it is of paramount importance that distance learning can serve as an alternative teaching method due to a wide range of benefits. It is hoped that the online teaching technology can be well developed to become a primary teaching method worldwide.