It is not a good idea to make art and music lessons part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a widespread debate about art and music classes recently. Some people point out that it is no need to change art and music classes to compulsory courses in school. This essay will discuss these classes are not appropriate to become mandatory because it is time consuming and cannot cover all the students interest. Art and music classes are usually time consuming and cause interruption to other courses. These classes inevitably take a lot of time if the teachers want to increase its learning quality. In other words, other compulsory subjects such as English and Maths may be interrupted. For the art lessons, it is difficult to complete a painting in a short period of time because students need to draft and paint carefully. Same as the music classes, students need to do plenty of warm up activities which help them to sing better before the main session. Therefore, it is obvious that art and music classes should not be mandatory as they use other significant lesson’s time. It is also noticeable that art and music lessons cannot not satisfy every students’ interest. School, which provide various learning opportunities, should be responsible to discover students ’ potential for different areas. However, if art and music classes become mandatory, students are likely to have less chances to choose what they interested for and have further development. For instance, students who have no talent about art and music are easily distracted in classes. What if they learn other things that are suitable for them instead of taking such boring lessons? Thus, in order to give students enough freedom, art and music lessons should remain elective. In conclusion, art and music lessons be elective classes will be better as they occupy the previous time of other critical classes and restrict the development of all the students.