In some cities, there are few controls on the design,construction of homes,office building, and the owners can decide on the styles of their houses. Do the advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that in some parts of the world, there are fewer regulations on the construction of residential and commercial buildings. Although this trend has some advantages, I personally opine that the disadvantages of an absence of laws or rules regarding building design outweigh these advantages. On the one hand, the biggest benefit of this trend is that it can enhance the beauty of the particular city or place. To explain, when owners have the freedom to choose design of the construction they can explore their creativity to architect these building spectacularly. For example, Venice, a city in Italy, is a hot spot among tourists only due to its uniquely constructed buildings. Moreover, every person has individual needs and they need to build buildings according to their family size or budget. So, forcing them to adopt a pre-determined design would be unfavourable for their economic condition. On the other hand, I think that less control over the design of homes and offices leads to dangerous repercussions. Firstly, it would allure the contractors to cut the cost of the construction which would compromise the security of residents. Such poorly designed and constructed buildings are prone to collapse during natural calamities such as earthquakes and floods etcetera. For instance, in 2012 Nepal earthquake many buildings were demolished just because of their weak construction. Apart from it, randomly constructed buildings encourage people to encroach on public land which would result in narrow roads and high traffic congestion. In conclusion, while having the freedom to design buildings is beneficial to some extent, I opine that its disadvantages clearly outnumber the advantages.