Some people beleive that excessive use of modren technologies, such as computers and smartphones, is negatively affecting the reading and writing skills of our young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every story has two sides and modern technology is not an exception. While some people believe it is affecting our youth, and others believe that technology is good for the children. New technologies nowadays have a lot of applications that the youth can use to help them with school and a number of different tasks. The online games help the children to read more, while some of the games help them with spelling. The kids of today are becoming more digitally smart because, they spent most of their time online. On the other hand, online chatting applications like Whatsapp, is affecting the writing of children because, they write with shorthand and when at school they tend to apply incorrect spelling. Another point, technology is making the young ones very lazy because, they want to be on their phones all the time. They get used to spell check or autocorrect and this does not help with spelling in school. Children are becoming more and more dependent on computers and smartphones. Although, it is not only teens, two years old are already beginning to play with smartphones. For example, the parents give the child a phone to keep them quiet, while they could read a book with them, this will help them in the future. To sum up, new technology like the smartphone is becoming a huge problem for the youth, they become lazy and spelling and reading skills are declining, eventually people will not be able to spell without using technology.