Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic problem. 1.Do you agree or disagree. 2. What other measures do you think might be affected.

Although the government can take some initiatives to counteract traffic congestion because of the ever-growing vehicles on the road, I think a soar in fuel price will be unrealistic. Besides benefitting the government to generate more revenue, the surge in petrol price may make drivers look for better alternatives. On the one hand, fuel-efficient and electric cars can appeal to more people to buy them at an extra cost, and it will not reduce traffic congestion; more buying can result in more vehicles on the road. On the other hand, Those with old cars who cannot afford petrol because of high prices usually opt for alternative fuel. It is available in some countries as a form of CNG, LPG, or LNG. Consequently, the number of cars is significantly increasing there and resulting in bumper-to-bumper traffic. This terrible situation is gradually escalating, especially in the megacity of Pakistan and is likely to become worst. I, therefore, reasonably think the following steps can help the government overcome the complex problem. Progressively introducing an alternative means of efficient transport and offering the lowest fare are likely to be effective. Appealing mass transit like underground subways, overhead trains, electric trams and green buses can benefit commuters. It could provide ease and considerable comfort to local passengers, especially those who typically have long routes. Similarly, if the standard fare is cheaper than the driving cost, the car drivers may abandon driving and prefer taking mass transit for their daily commute, as it may be lighter in their pockets. Perhaps because of this, in many European countries, regular suburbanites typically rely on this system. It means overcoming this problem is somehow possible. To conclude, an unrealistic approach to increasing fuel prices may not control the ever-growing traffic issue, especially in urban areas; therefore, we will require a more efficient strategy to deal with it.