A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent days, people seem to be more interested in social status and financial income than moral virtues. In my opinion, values such as trust, empathy and courage are far more important than social rank because social rank is extremely volatile and traditional virtues lead to strong relationships. First of all, social status and material possessions are volatile. For instance, when the Wall Street stock exchange fell, many wealthy families found themselves in an extreme crisis. All their savings and stocks were lost, and they were left with nothing; their social status abruptly crashed and they had to rebuild their position from the beginning. This clearly shows how much material wealth and possessions can fluctuate, and why it is not the best way to judge someone's worth. Secondly, virtues that are considered important hardly change over time because truthful, empathic and honest people can be trusted. For example, a good friend must be one that is loyal and can keep secrets in order to develop a long intimate relationship. Virtues, such as honour, courage, empathy and trust give credit to individuals' worth and they are more likeable. Moreover, the same can be said regarding romantic love relationships: If there is no trust, it is likely that the relationship crumbles and partners distance themselves from each other. In conclusion, I believe that moral virtues are considerably more important in order to judge a person's worth rather than social rank and economic possessions. If people take these ethical values more into consideration than stocks and ranks, it highly creates a better society.