Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Sugar is undoubtedly one of the most harmful food ingredients when consumed more than recommended potion - which is often the case in our daily diet. To reduce the sugar-rich food and drinks intake, many recommend making them more expensive, and I believe that such sugar-packed products should be expensive to promote public health. Despite the common myth of the health benefits of sugar, scientists and nutritionists suggest that they are addictive, and are slow poison. Fast foods and sugary foods and drinks like soft drinks, desserts, ice-creams, and sodas come cheap and are ready to be consumed without any effort. This is why they have become so popular, and from children to the elderly, everyone loves those sugary foods and drinks. But these are known to cause serious diseases like diabetes and heart diseases and are connected to obesity. Since they are linked to so many unexpected health diseases and deaths, the authority should impose taxes, directly and indirectly, on those sugary items to make them unaffordable to mass people and in the process improve public health. Moreover, people often opt for food and drinks that are cheap and easily available. And if we only look at the departmental stores around us, we can notice that we have sugary items all around us, and they are affordable. So to restrict sugar intake, their prices should be increased via direct and indirect taxes. If they are made more expensive, people will reduce their consumption and go for more healthy alternatives. For instance, if a healthy meal costs $5 while a sugary junk meal $10, most people will go for the cheaper and better option. It will gradually but surely improve public health and reduce medical care expenses both for the government and ordinary citizens. To conclude, imposing higher taxes on sugary items will bring about many benefits and reduce the cost of healthcare. It is therefore expected that the authority will take steps to make sugar-packed items expensive.