Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is undeniable that, nowadays, most companies are dependent on advertising as a means to attract the attention of consumers, and it effectively convinces them to purchase the products. On the contrary, others believe that because advertising is commonplace, it does not grasp the public’s interests anymore. This essay will scrutinize the justifications behind the two opposing views before the conclusion of why my position lies on the latter statement is reached. On one hand, advertising proves to be successful at convincing customers to buy goods as it conveys rhetorical strategies such as celebrities' influences. This is because trendy celebrities tend to be the significant element when people, especially youngsters, decide to spend money on specific products in order to keep up-to-date and fashionable. For example, when Kendall Jenner, the highest-paid model in the world, walked for the fashion show held by Balenciaga, sales figures of this company skyrocketed as it has never been before. As a result, advertisements which include influencers are extremely successful in increasing the number of customers. On the other hand, advertising is increasingly generated and ubiquitous in public places, as well as mainstream media, so the folk are not likely to be easily persuaded. Due to the fact that consumers are familiar with the immense existence of advertisements, they might be immune to them and seem to believe that they are so common that no attention is specifically needed. To illustrate, when watching videos on Youtube, audiences are aware of the advertisements which come prior to the actual clip, and they will skip those as soon as possible. This is the case that individuals no longer find advertisements interesting, because of their overappearance. To conclude, while advertising used to successfully persuade the spending of the public on goods and services when it comes to celebrities' influences, I am inclined to believe that individuals no longer pay attention to it as much as in the period when advertising was not this common.