In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It becomes more common for people to live alone in these years,especially in developed nations. In my opinion, this trend has both positive and negative consequences in equal measure. The rise in one-person households can be seen as a positive development in that way that those people became less dependent on others and more self-reliant. Young adults who choose to live alone will have to tackle various problems on their daily basis on their own. They have to make sure that their income covers total expenses and have to take care of all personal staff from making meals to cleaning the houses. In this way, they will become more personally independent. The next favourable about this trend is that there will have more gaps in living space to fill. For this, more flats will need to be built and make a good cash flow for real estate, more jobs will be created for the construction of infrastructure and home decoration companies. On the other hand, living alone can lead to several mental problems. People who lack family members besides or flatmates will suffer from loneliness, isolation and worries due to having so many responsibilities to handle. They must bear the weight of all household bills and responsibilities. The next thing to consider is that the rise in demand for housing is likely to lead to increased property prices and rents. While this may benefit some benefits, the general population will face rising living costs. Constructing multistoried buildings to offer living space for each person separately will lead to the expansion of the urban area and cause more pollution. In conclusion, the increase in one-person households will have both beneficial and detrimental effects on each individual and on the economy as a whole.