Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. What are the reasons for this? What impact does this issue have on the society?

Students can choose their specific course to pursue from many subjects in higher education, the most popular majors are such as medicine, engineering, business and law. These majors are considered to have better career opportunities than others. Science-related subjects are less popular among students around the world as their job could be limited and may pay lower than other majors. This issue has a significant impact on society. In many countries especially in Asia, the highest score to enter university admission is the faculty of medicine. Doctors are considered prestigious with high salaries and guarantees of a successful future. While science-related subjects, for example, biology, chemistry and physics are far less popular. The reasons for this issue are limited job opportunities and relatively lower salaries. People who graduate in science-related subjects mostly work as scientists, researchers or professors in universities which might be mundane for many people and pay lower. Without a large number of students in science-related subjects, there will be fewer scientific research and experiment and other new scientific inventions in our society, for instance, not enough number of scientist in food laboratories will cause less development in food science and technology. Furthermore, less new knowledge and technology will be explored and invented. In conclusion, I believe that science-related subjects are imperative, main reasons for a limited number of students choosing to study sciences are work opportunities and salary. This issue has a negative impact on the development of our society.