Some think that only those people who have worked for a company for many years should be promoted to a higher position. Do you agree?

A number of people believe that numerous years spent in a company should give advantages to climbing the career ladder. I completely disagree with this viewpoint, as, in my opinion, promotion should be driven by two other factors, such as excellent performance and readiness for the next position, which requires conscious work rather than nominal years. Firstly, achievements at work are a strong base to be recognised and become more visible, which is more essential and valuable, than average results for numerous years. Moreover, companies strive to nurture internal stars and provide special development programs. Meanwhile, the more outstanding results you demonstrate, the higher your probability is to be selected into the pool of employees with high potential and getting additional knowledge, which, in return, contributes positively to further career paths. In other words, it is worth being purposeful from the beginning and not wasting time. Secondly, a higher grade usually implies a wider range of hard and soft skills, which results in fewer people being able to perform such jobs successfully compared to lower grades with less complex tasks. Certainly, some skills can be trained in advance, but it may take various times for people to acquire substantial levels due to natural ability, motivation and efforts. Consequently, there is no guarantee of being ready for the next position in a certain period of time for everybody, that’s why the duration of work for the company should not be considered a key point for growth. To sum up, I’m convinced that the merits and suitability for a new position are the only fairgrounds for promotion. That is to say, what you do and how is more appreciated than how long you stay in one place.