Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holiday. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages ?

It is considered by certain employers that their employees should be able to contact whenever they need, including on holiday. In my opinion, although this will be beneficial in case of an emergency, there are more drawbacks than benefits since it invades the privacy of their staff and could lead to mental issues. On the one hand, one obvious merit of always being able to contact their workers is to solve problems as soon as possible. To explain, when any serious problems or unexpected incidents occur, they can be mitigated immediately, preventing further issues as well as exacerbating the situation. For example, in case of an emergency, if the system of the company is hacked, IT workers are responsible for tackling this instantly. Therefore, it is essential for employers to be able to contact their staff constantly for the sake of the company. On the other hand, there are several detrimental effects of contacting employees all the time even if it is on holiday. First of all, it is considered to be extremely rude and inappropriate as the privacy of staff is invaded. In other words, individuals should have their private time for family and friends instead of worrying about their work every time. Secondly, this will destroy workers ’ work-life balance which is essential for good mental well-being. Consequently, the productivity and passion of employees will be reduced, contributing to a high turnover rate of the companies. In addition, workers tend to suffer from stress and pressure as a result of heavy workloads. This proves that it poses negative outcomes to not only staff but also a business. In conclusion, while it is advantageous for directors and firms to be always able to contact their staff because of a high likelihood to relieve issues in time, I am inclined to believe that the disadvantages of this trend overshadow the advantages regarding the invasion of privacy and the destructive impacts on the mental health of workers.