Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

The rise of globalization and technology has paved the way for the growth of international media which is influential to individuals, especially youngsters. This raises an issue that many adolescents are less concerned about their nation’s history. Justifications behind this affirmation and possible solutions will be provided in the following paragraphs. To embark on, there are several rationales why youths are more interested in international entertainments than historic people - historical figures of their own country. First of all, globalization exposes youngsters to multiculturalism which broadens their horizons as well as introduces new cultures and practices into their sights, leading them to shift their interests into global trends. As a result, young people tend to be influenced by the majority,especially their peers. Secondly, the history of their own country is often regarded as academic topics, less accessible, and less interesting, so society unintentionally takes it for granted. However, potentially effective solutions can be used to surge adolescents’ interest in their country’s history. One way to encourage them is that the education institutes to acknowledge them more about this by adding it into the curriculum to encourage patriotism since they were young. For example, establishing a national history club in schools. Apart from this, the government and other authorities should provide a radical approach to the knowledge of historic people through the Internet, newspapers, and TV. These would certainly boost public interests in well-known historic people of the nation. To conclude, resulting from globalization and majority influences, young people then know more about international performers than their local historical figures. Therefore, the government, school, and individuals should cooperate to mitigate this problem for the sake of the nation.