Many young people today know more about international pop or movie stars than about famous people in the history of their own country. Why is this? What can be done to increase young people’s interest in famous people in the history of their country?

In recent times, an increasing number of young individuals know more about international pop or celebrities than historical figures of their own nation. This situation stems from exposure to social media and irrelevant content. However, there are several solutions to encourage young people to be interested in historical people of their country. One obvious reason for this trend is due to the fact that social media plays a key role in people ’s lives. This is because youngsters are exposed to global trends via the Internet which is occupied by international cultures, so it is unavoidable to get involved in content from other countries. In addition, they are easily influenced by the majority, especially their peers, in order to be accepted. Another reason is that because history is considered to be outdated, it is irrelevant to situations in modern days, making it hard to be related. These are the explanations why people from young generations know more about international performers than people in the history of their own country. Nevertheless, there are two effective solutions to increase the popularity of historical figures among young individuals. Firstly, the youths should be acknowledged more about the value of historical figures in their own country through the education. This will instil a sense of patriotism and introduce their country's history in their daily lives. For instance, this can be implemented by adding historical figures into the curriculum or establishing national history clubs in schools. Second, the combine between entertaining and educational movies would probably make students more stick easily. For instance, filmmakers could shoot the film related to history to propaganda more about the former country at war and how the historical heroes have made it more beautiful so far. While watching it, youngsters are able to imagine and remember spontaneously. By doing this, it will effectively attract more interest from young people to their country ’s history instead of leaving it behind. In conclusion, as a result of social media and the influence of global trends, young individuals know more about international performers than their local historical figures. Therefore, this could be tackled by the cooperation between the government and institutes for the sake of the nation.