Much controversy surrounds the ongoing struggle over how governments can safely and effectively manage 'living with COVID' two years on from the initial outbreak.

The outbreak of the COVID 19 pandemic has overturned almost every life in this universe. As to control the escalating number of infections, many governments impose full or partial lockdown for an unspecified period- which leads to restricting the mobility of people. Consequently, schools and other educational institutions are asked to carry out their teaching activities through online platforms. Also, business organisations are requested to make their employees work from home and online purchasing is encouraged instead of visiting stores. Despite controlling the number of cases, these restrictions have resulted in numerous negative consequences, such as loss of employment, deterioration of physical, mental, social and economic well-being. Therefore, governments need to exercise prudence in such measures to combat the pandemic. It is believed vaccines are effective in mitigating the outbreak as well as reducing hospitalisation and fatality. Many middle east countries like the Kingdom of Bahrain, the United Arab Emirates are handling this worst situation by introducing vaccination campaigns on a massive scale and achieving commendable success. However, some countries claim curfew can eradicate the outbreak. Hence, there is no such confirmed evidence to prove its effectiveness. Where many Oceania countries imposed a lockdown for prolonged periods, unfortunately, those countries are not able to control the spread due to the recurring mutation of the virus. Therefore, the governments should make wise decisions by encouraging their citizens and residents to inoculate instead of locking down the country and resulting in a stagnant economy. Moreover, governments can impose stringent rules and regulations to adhere the precautionary measures such as wearing masks, social distancing, quarantining the infected and immediate contacts, emphasising personal hygiene and taking a healthy diet to boost immunity. People to be advised to follow the rules strictly and carry on with their endeavours. Society should be trained to live along with the viruses by following precautionary measures and leading a healthy lifestyle. This can not be solely achieved by governments without the utmost support of the people. Finally, governments can emphasise more on medical research and development and provide adequate finance and infrastructure to the health sector. Consequently, governments will have a proactive approach when they encounter such disastrous outbreaks and will be able to keep issues under control. In conclusion, locking down the countries for prolonged periods will not be effective for mankind and economic well-being as a means to combat the COVID 19 outbreak. Thus, governments can encourage taking vaccinations, imposing strict precautionary rules, emphasising more on medical research and development to help society to live along with the viruses and carry out their routine life without any negative financial and social impacts.