Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether the employer’s appearance is more important than other essential values in work has been sparking debate for several years. While some businesses believe that it is a necessity to have workers dress appropriately, others argue that this matter is not the priority value compared to other quality of work. Although both sides make very valid points, it seems to me that the major worth could vary from the job’s characteristics. On one hand, there are some careers that need to dress smartly to give a trustworthy appearance to customers as well as partners such as a lawyer, a businessman, and a politician. Without the proper dressing culture fit with the properties of careers, they can lose their public credibility. Secondly, this way of dressing can help to improve the professional environment within the workplace which can encourage employees to improve their performances and obtain a progressive attitude. For instance, most office workers usually dress up in suits and dresses in order to make their looks formally Consequently, this measure will help to build up their company’s reputation. On the other hand, it could be argued that other aspects such as team working and creativity are parts of the most significant values in some careers since the modern world is usually dependent on new innovations and collaborative projects. Taking a reporter as an example, dressing casually is more important for people operating within the media industry since they often work outside the office and run to stakeholders from place to place, and even work remotely, so that this kind of job does not require appearance as a first priority criterion but purposefully demand flexibility to cooperate with other careers and speedily create a piece of work. In conclusion, I am convinced that the types of jobs will help organizations to define the best crucial value regarding holding as the main value within their workplaces. No matter whether people dress smartly or not, they can finally acquire the ultimate goal of their companies by establishing quality work.