Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I would argue in this essay that there is no necessary correlation between the average working time of a country and the economic success level of it and the irrationalities of the comparison made in this topic. The economic standard of different nations and their working hours of labor forces are not proportional at all; the true reason lying behind the working time and the multiple factors leading to economic development compel the claim to be ridiculous. Before deciding whether an element contributes to an outcome, one should first see past the truth causing the element— on some cases, the long working time in a country may directly reflect the fact that its labor forces may be not as developed as that in other countries. That means they have to increase their working hours because they are not as efficient as those who are technologically prosperous in terms of the productivity. Such situation explains why time length cannot be a measurement in judging the economic success. Whereas the booming of the economy is also decided by many other cruxes like market-oriented industry, good transportation and the performance of securities, etc.; they are much more directly linked with the money flows and commercial situations and countries depend these types of factors more to develop their financial conditions no matter how long their citizens are working during their vocational life. Before scrutinizing whether countries with or without long average working time can be compared in terms of their economic success, we must admit that it is not doable. For any appraisal to happen, one must first define the parameter in order to make a system of differentiation. Just what is the quantifying standard we consider to judge the economic successfulness of a country? Are we measuring the total GDP or per-capital GDP of a nation? Or are we verifying the CPI, or the amount of importation of exportation? Countries may largely vary in different criteria, and even if there are confirmed statistics, the conclusion is still unjustifiable because they cannot objectively reflect whether they are truly “economically successful”—the total GDP may be high because of a large population, and a higher per-capital GDP may hide the wealth disparity inside; other measurements may still have problems like this. Though some countries may be manifest in the distance of economic prosperity, like the distance between the US and Cuba, there are great difficulties out there to be considered when comparing the countries that are not so different in their economic development; subjectivity prevails. In conclusion, it is certainly simple-minded to add working time into the consideration of whether countries are more economically successful or not; nations are also certainly hard to be measured with the obscured definition of “economic success”.