Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

Love for own country is one of the most pure form of love displayed.But some argue that patriotism is detrimental while others believe it to be a good quality among citizens. This essay will be discussing both the views but i believe it to be benefecial overall. Patriotism gives a strong sense of identity and helps to bring together the whole population with great unity.The people who take pride of their origin would try to take their country's name far and wide through variety of activities such as sports,arts,music, dance. This benefits the country and other citizens as it gives recognition to all of them. This is the reason why patriotism is most visible during international sports meet such as Cricket worldcup WorldCup Worldcup,Fifa or Olympics.The participants have the whole support of their country because of their faith that players or athletes would bring glory to their country. Like every coin has another side,excessive patriotism brings down the benefits it gives.When in excess it makes men and women intolerable to other countries and their citizens.It becomes hard for them to gracefully accept defeat of their nation even in friendly competitions and sports meet.In extreme cases it would also create hatred for other countries which might even result in terrorism and wars. A realistic sense of patriotism is appreciable and even advantageous for the progress of one's own country but when it crosses the limit,it might lead to deterioration of the country.To conclude, patriotism is a double edged sword which has to be handled well.