Some people argue that arts, such as paintings and music, are a waste of money and the government should spend this money on other public services. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, thanks to the influence of globalization, the phenomenon of spending money on arts instead of public service has aroused wide concerns among various circles, and there is a wide spectrum of opinions on government funding. Nevertheless, I vehemently agree with the view that money should be spent to increase the well-being of the general public. Today, I would like to shed light on this topic. Firstly, the government spending should be based on the decision of citizens. Since the government funding comes from the hard-earned money of taxpayers, the money, therefore, should be spent effectively and wisely in order to prevent the money from going down the drain. The interest of the majority should take precedence over the interest of the minority when it comes to public policies. This is not to say that we should turn a blind eye to the minority, however, the government funding should be used to benefit society at large instead of catering to a small group of people. For example, money can be spent on improving the public medical service in order to reduce the treatment waiting time. What is also worthy of our attention is that it is essential for the government to make every endeavour to maintain the quality of the public service. Due to the fact that arts such as music or paintings, is regarded as a luxury, whereas the public service is vital to support the fundamental system of society. According to the Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs, lower elements, for instance, physical needs, in the hierarchy should take precedence over higher elements, for instance, a sense of belonging. If the integrity of society could not be maintained, it would be useless to improve the quality of arts within a city. As a result, political and economical aspects of a city would then be collapsed, this in turn would lead to a lower gross domestic product, GDP. To summarise, for the sake of taxpayers and society, it is of uttermost importance that the government money should be used to improve the welfare of citizens. It is hoped that the government is willing to consult opinions from the public before spending taxpayers' money.