In many countries paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages ?

A popular and growing trend around the world is the payment of products and services through mobile applications alternatively known as online payment software. In my opinion, this reality has more benefits than demerits, with the benefits being convenience and reliability while the possible demerit is unsuccessful payment. A major reward for making online payments is convenience. This means that it is easier for people to buy products or purchase services and pay via the internet instead of them moving with cash in their wallets. As an illustration, most supermarkets in Lagos encourage their buyers to pay for items they buy using specific payment platforms such as Flutterwave. Another benefit of mobile payment software is reliability. What this means is that when people pay for goods or services online they can verify the identity of the business through detailed information made available on the platform. Take Jumia Nigeria for example. Before buyers can pay for products they select on this e-commerce store, they are shown the full business information of the vendor or supplier of the items. Irrespective of these benefits, it is impossible to overlook the attendant cases of failed payments associated with online payments. This implies that while mobile applications can be used for faster, easier and more reliable payments, payments could sometimes be unsuccessful due to poor internet connection. To illustrate this, many Nigerians have taken to Twitter to express their displeasure with the Access bank mobile application, and this is as a result of frequent cases of money being deducted but the recipient not receiving it. In conclusion, while paying for products and services through mobile applications is easier and more reliable, the problem of failed transactions cannot be ignored. If internet connection can be improved in many countries of the world, mobile payments would become more effective.