Information technology enables many people to do their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when traveling, etc.). Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely held that as a result of information technology, a number of people are enabled to work outside their workplaces such as working from home or during a trip. In my opinion, although there are several drawbacks regarding a lack of socialization, the benefits in terms of time-saving outweigh the downsides. To begin with, opponents claim that working outside the workplace will undermine the social skills of employees. This is because they tend to chat when working from their shelter rather than actually socialize with other colleagues. Consequently, this will lower their performances due to ineffective communication. Another point to consider is that working wherever workers are will destroy their work -life balance. For instance, when staff do not have a fixed schedule of work, they tend to be unorganized and unintentionally integrate their private lives with their work life. On the other hand, there are many advantages of the ability to work outside workplaces. First of all, workers can save a great deal of precious time since they do not have to commute to their offices. For example, employees who reside on the outskirts have to waste at least an hour travelling to their workplaces in urban areas, as well as trapping traffic congestion during rush hours. Secondly, the mental health of employees will be enhanced as they are able to change their work environment, resulting in reduced stress, more creativity, and more productivity. In conclusion, due to the fact that information technology enables individuals to work wherever they are, workers can save their time and improve their mental well-being even if their social skills are threatened. Taking both perspectives into consideration, I am inclined to believe that the advantages of this mobility overshadow the disadvantages.