Fossil fuels are the main source of energy around the world. However, people are being encouraged to use alternative energy sources such as wind energy, solar energy and so on. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

While most countries rely on fossil fuel as the primary source of energy, some people call for a wider public acceptance of renewable energy sources. In my mind, the shift towards clean energy is generally favorable, but admittedly not without its drawbacks. On the one hand, it is essential to acknowledge some downsides to making so-called “green energy ” a standard source of energy. The main concern over the widespread adoption of renewable energy is production cost. Contrary to what most people believe, generating energy from replenishable sources such as wind and the Sun requires a substantial initial investment to set up production and distribution, not to mention the expenses incurred from maintenance and hiring specialists. All this further adds weight to the case against the usage of solar and wind energy. One other immediate problem is likely to be a rise in unemployment once people in the oil and gas industry are rendered jobless when there is lower demand for fossil fuel-based energy forms. This is a legitimate concern given the number of people employed in the fossil fuel energy industry. That said, I believe more people should be encouraged to use clean energy. First of all, switching to alternative energy would be a step in the right direction towards building a cleaner world. It has been long established that the production of non-renewable energy as well as its usage harms the environment by releasing pollutants like CO2 into the atmosphere, so cutting down on our fossil fuel would reduce these harmful substances. This, in turn, helps alleviate major environmental issues such as global warming and many forms of pollution. Furthermore, from an economic standpoint, if countries embraced renewable energy, they would be less dependent on giant oil suppliers like Russia and the UAE. Greater economic and political freedom is going to benefit countries more in the long-run than the immediate costs from clean energy. In conclusion, I am convinced that encouraging more and more people to use renewable energy is a positive development despite the above-mentioned drawbacks.