To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

To feed the growing population in a country, the government should put forward the availability of edible insects as a food source. Many think that eating beetle is not a good option for health and also harvesting them will have a threat to the nature. Firstly, Eating bugs will certainly add to the most readily available meal. Fetching up them is not a big deal. They can be easily captured from their habitat and can be served freshly. For example, one of my acquaintances is a wildlife photographer. Because of a few reasons, suddenly he had to stay in the jungle for two days without any food. He was starving and abruptly had a glimpse over the bunch of caterpillars. He had them and so he was able to feed himself. However, it can't be denied that harvesting vermin will involve a large amount of them being at a place that will imbalance the functioning cycle of that environment. The increasing number of bugs will result in their dominance in that particular area. These small creatures eventually will disturb other living beings' habitats, resulting in their scarcity. this could lead to the failure of the food cycle. A considerable example is the availability of flowering plants near the honey bee comb. The larger honeycomb asks for plenty of flowers. If not available will require to achieve it from further areas. To sum up, although harvesting bees does not nourish them properly as well as has a negative impact on the environment, it can surely be a source to feed many. The drawbacks can be outweighed by necessary initiatives to avoid them.